This is fine however if the algorithm being used to compare files is good enough to manage the different versions and resolve conflicts automatically. In many cases the software is unable to manage the different versions and rely on the user to resolve conflicts in versions manually. This can be very time consuming if there are many files to resolve.
For example, one problem that can arise with synchronisation is if a document is deleted from one system/folder by accident. In many cases the synchronisation software will spot that the file has been deleted from the working station and delete it from the ‘central’ store when synchronisation is next done. This can lead to data being inadvertently deleted with little or no chance to restore the file, which defeats the objective of safe backup.